tropic_dm ([info]tropic_dm) wrote,
@ 2007-12-16 17:33:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend!  Next Entry
Current mood: irate

MSN Messenger users - warning
Just now I received a message from [info]eneit as follows:

are these your pics? http://msgrpics.net/?msn=tropical_dm@hotmail.com

which she didn't actually send, but was sent by the virus it contains which is a very nasty piece of work. It looks at your contact list and sends the virus to everyone on the list whether your currently chatting with them or not.

Thankfully I realised that it was dodgy when it came up with the File Open/Save dialog box and saw it was an MS-DOS Application.

Whoa! No way is that coming on my computer!

[info]kesalemma has also issued a warning so fingers xx'd those of you on our combined flist will be alert and not get clobbered.

There is a site you can go to which I checked out for info on how to remove the virus if you do unfortunately get clobbered - http://www.anetforums.com/posts.aspx?ThreadIndex=1563



(Post a new comment)


[info]kittygopounce
2007-12-16 12:24 pm UTC (link)
Yeah, I got the message. I didn't download it after it said it needed to download an MS-DOS executable *snort*

But I did IM [info]eneit and say along the lines of "whatever that is, it's not my photos - I have pictures hosted at x, y, z but none of them would be downloadable applications." Anyway, she scurried off to do a virus scan =)

I'm glad we caught her MSN/computer doing that!

(Reply to this)(Thread)


[info]little_foxy
2007-12-16 11:46 pm UTC (link)
I tried to open the window to see what the site said, and it instantly brought up the do you wish to save this file? I of course said no....
That link is just as nasty as the message!

(Reply to this)(Parent)


Create an Account
Forgot your login?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…